A Short History of the Society

Early history

It all began in September 1972, a short article in the Knutsford Guardian announced a series of evening classes organised by the Workers Education Association devoted to the subject of Ornithology. Bill MulliganThe tutor was the late Bill Mulligan, despite his advancing years a man of boundless enthusiasm and energy who managed over the next two years to transfer some of his immense knowledge to his band of disciples. Eventually Bill declared that he'd done as much as he could and it was now up to us! So early in 1974 the inaugural meeting of the Society took place, a constitution was drawn up and the first committee elected. Bill of course became a life member and the organisations first President.

The Present Day

Over the intervening years, as with most organisations of this nature, members have come and gone for various reasons, but there have always been a core group of members prepared to serve on the committee and turn up on field trips whatever the weather! Indoor meetings are held on the fourth Friday of every month (except August) currently in the excellent function room at the Jubilee Hall, right in the heart of the Town, meeting up at 7:45pm for an 8pm start. Unusually for Ornithological societies Field Trips are held every month of the year, some lesser organisations get out together only between October and May, some never, but with the KOS it's real value for your £20 per annum subscription and it's FREE for under 18s

New members are always welcome, just turn up at any indoor or outdoor event and introduce yourself. There are no qualifications required, except for a sense of humour and even this is not obligatory ! Currently we have members ranging from absolute beginners through to big-time twitchers complete with pagers and £3000+ 'scopes.

Current Officers of the Society

President -
Chairman Sheila Blamire
07837 745989
Secretary Karina Stanley
Treasurer Frank Dearden
Lectures Officers Sheila Blamire
07837 745989
Press Officer / Website Tony Usher.
07710 508544
01565 873508
Committee Members
2024 -2025
Judith Halman
Patricia Sponder
Bob Groom
Derek Pike

Return to the Homepage.............. Current Latest News